Today is National Coming Out Day, and I Don’t Know What I’m Doing.

My post for National Coming Out Day: I reflect on coming out, evolving identity, and how being a dragon would make everything way easier.

Disabled Dragon

So. It’s National Coming Out Day today.

Coming out is such a strange concept. I mean, when I was a kid, I thought it was something you do once–because that’s how a lot of media talks about it. But that’s not true. As a kid I experienced it not being true, I just assumed I was doing it wrong, or something.

I think I was about ten when I figured out I wasn’t straight. I told a couple of my friends. Most of them were okay with it. One of them told me she was the same, and the two of us did that weird “dating” thing that 10 year olds do when they aren’t really old enough to date, like, at all. I think we mainly just held hands in class, really.

I spent the next couple years trying to come out to various groups of people. I never…

View original post 1,852 more words

Leave a Reply

